Blogging Honesty

theagingsub had a great post the other day, titled Keeping the Faith, that was mainly about the joy in having your Dominant “get it” and how good it feels to know you are truly understood. But another thing she mentioned got me thinking and it was the part about telling the highs AND the lows, not blogging just the “highlights reel”. I think I’m guilty of this. I mean most of my blog is presented more like information, helpful hints, a peek inside a submissive mind, etc, but my personal stories are probably 98% about the good things that happen. Not sure why really…. Maybe it’s that the triumphant, fun, and successful times are a lot easier to relive, and therefore retell, than the difficult times. Maybe it’s because when you tell about your mistakes and problems it leaves you even more vulnerable, open, raw, and that fear is hard to overcome.

However, when your main purpose is to try and help others, or even just as a creative outlet, it’s almost necessary. It occurs to me that people can learn just as much from someone else’s mistakes, problems, and failed attempts as they can from a person’s successes, achievements, and wins. While the hard times are difficult, tedious, and often embarrassing to tell they are just as important as the good times that are fun, amazing, and joyous to relay.

honesty

A blog about this lifestyle, that doesn’t give you some examples of difficult times, is akin to all those children’s fairy tales about Prince Charming and a hidden beauty riding off into the sunset and living happily ever after. You hear too many of those as a child then when you grow up, have a relationship, and it’s not perfect, you think something’s wrong. Every relationship has issues and takes work, especially an M/s or D/s relationship. The rewards are great mind you, but it’s not without it’s hard times and those should be shared as well.

So I’m going to make a concerted effort to give a few more honest life examples in my posts, of both the good AND the difficult. Besides, this lifestyle demands total and complete honesty, so any blog about it should do the same, right?

thL15Q936C

 

And I want to give a great big THANK YOU shout out to all of you out in blog-land that are “keeping it real”! I know sometimes it’s difficult to open yourself up to the world but in doing so you help many, many others to know they are not alone and that is a beautiful thing!

honesty-quotes-sayings-positive-meaningful-cute

This entry was posted in Chronicles, Just Because and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Blogging Honesty

  1. Cinnamon says:

    I liken it to growing up in my parents home….they never, ever argued or fought in front of us kids. I have a huge struggle in life with conflict because I didn’t learn healthy ways to work through it. I learned instead to bottle it up and pretend everything was ok.

    I saw a sub pose an issue yesterday… I forget who darn it…. how do they deal with it when they are mad at their dominant. I thought it was a great question.
    I don’t know that I even know the answer…. But I’m working on it.

    • luna says:

      I can relate to that. My parents hardly ever fought too. Add to that a little brother that was always Mommy’s favorite, and a submissive nature that wanted and never got the proper discipline, structure, and encouragement, basically I was a recipe for disaster. Lol I don’t regret any of it though – it taught me a lot about who I am and I turned out to be one hell of a strong, loving, and forgiving woman!
      It’s interesting you should bring that up (about the what to do when your mad at your Dominant) because not only do I struggle with that sometimes I’ve been putting a lot of thought into it and had already started working on a post. It was going to be a way to throw some thoughts and ideas out there and see if others had the same issue. Apparently they do! 😉 Thanks for commenting!

  2. theagingsub says:

    Awesome post. I already love your blog, but I’m looking forward to where it’s going!

  3. wideopencunt says:

    Such a great post. You’ve inspired me!

    • luna says:

      That’s awesome, I’m honored! I’ve loved the tales you tell in your blog, and you are very good with erotic writing, but I’ve often wondered what else is there to you and your relationship (I’m an extremely curious person). Can’t wait to read more! 🙂

  4. I read that post too and loved that. In my day-to-day life, I’m very (like, very …ummm VERY private – though most people would say I’m an open book. My friends though always say the people who say that about me don’t know *me* at all!) So, I’ve attempted to be really truthful here. I kept my blog private for a long time and debated opening it for a long time. First, because I’m a private person (*smiles*) but second, because I wasn’t sure my journey would be interesting to anyone else. Finally though, I decided that for me to be open would be healthy for me! So … I’m trying too!! Good luck and kudos to you!

  5. I love that you mentioned this. I’ve seen very few posts where a sub mentions anything negative about their master or if they’re struggling with something. I’m a slave in training and I do believe it would be helpful to read about the good and bad times. I myself have a hard time writing about the hard times because I am a little embarrassed and feel like there is something wrong with me if noone can relate. I love reading your blog and look forward to reading more 🙂
    Thank you

    • luna says:

      Thank you shysubmissive! I’ve discovered it is hard to write about the bad times, partly because it is embarrassing and partly because I think, as a submissive, you don’t want to reveal/relive anything that might knock your Dominant even slightly off the pedestal that so many of us put them on. It’s not realistic though, to portray everything as always being rosy and perfect because hardly anything is – and that is what makes us appreciate it all the more when it is good. I’ve been working on a couple of posts that are more….honest…but it’s taking a lot more time than my usual posts because I’m having to write it while at the same time overcoming the habit of not revealing the hard stuff. Hopefully I’ll finish them soon….lol

  6. Pingback: The bad parts of it all | openforhim

Leave a Reply

